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Butler County Dog Owners Reminded of Responsibility to License Dogs  
 

Renfrew, Pa. – Agriculture Secretary George Greig today reminded Pennsylvanians 
to license their dogs, saying a dog license is the best way to protect lost dogs.  

 
“Dog ownership comes with a lot of responsibilities, and licensing your dog is on the 
top of the list,” said Greig. “If your dog gets lost, a current dog license is his ticket 

home. 
 

“Dog wardens across the state will be out in full force in the coming months to 
ensure all Pennsylvanians are following the laws. Buy a license for your dog now, 
because the cost of a license is less than the penalty for being caught without one.” 

 
An annual dog license is $8.45, or $6.45 if the animal is spayed or neutered. 

Lifetime licenses are available for dogs that have permanent identification like a 
microchip or tattoo. Older adults and people with disabilities may be eligible for 
discounts. 

 
“Licensing your dog is easy and affordable,” said Butler County Treasurer Diane 

Marburger. “Dog owners can purchase a license at the county treasurer’s office, at 
another licensing agent like a retail store or local library, or online.” 
 

The dog license application is simple and only requests owner contact information 
and details about the dog being licensed, like name, age, breed and color. Buy a 

license at www.doglicenses.us/PA/Butler.  
 
“We see a lot of dogs that are not licensed and it’s hard for us to reunite them with 

their owners,” said Lynette Vybiral, executive director of the Butler County Humane 
Society. “Your best bet for your lost dog coming home safely and quickly is with an 

updated dog license.” 
 

Greig offered these reasons for dog licensing:  
 It’s the law. All dogs three months and older must have a current license. 
 If your dog gets lost, a license is the best way to get him back. A 

license helps animal control and shelters identify your dog and get him back 
home safely.  

 The cost of a license is less than the penalty for being caught without 
one. Owners who fail to license their dogs could face a fine of up to $300 for 
each unlicensed dog.  

http://www.doglicenses.us/PA/Butler


 License fees support animal control. The annual fee you pay to license 
your dog helps keep shelters running and supports the work of the Dog Law 

Enforcement Office, which is responsible for ensuring the welfare of dogs, 
regulating dangerous dogs and overseeing annual licensing and rabies 

vaccinations.  
 
For more information, visit www.licenseyourdogPA.com or call the Dog Law 

Enforcement Office at 717-787-3062. 
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