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Pennsylvanians Top Dog Licensing Challenge, Earn $10,000 PetSmart® 
Donation for Service Dogs 

 
Harrisburg – Pennsylvania pet owners licensed 124,555 dogs in March during “Dog 
License Awareness Month,” exceeding the 100,000-license goal set by state dog law 

officials. 
 

In recognition of the milestone, pet specialty retailer PetSmart® today donated 
$10,000 to Susquehanna Service Dogs, a non-profit organization that trains and 
provides service and hearing dogs that help children and adults with special needs 

become more independent.  
 

“Thank you to all Pennsylvanians who purchased dog licenses to safeguard pets and 
support service dogs across the state,” said Agriculture Secretary George Greig. 
“Dog licensing is affordable and easy, and it’s the best way to help ensure lost dogs 

make it home. Aside from the peace-of-mind it brings, licensing your dog is the 
law.” 

 
State law requires all dogs three months and older to be licensed each year. 

Owners who fail to license their dogs could face a fine of up to $300 for each 
unlicensed dog.  
 

“Dog licensing is every pet owner’s responsibility,” said Jennifer Steck, Harrisburg 
PetSmart® manager. “We are thrilled today to donate $10,000 to Susquehanna 

Service Dogs on behalf of Pennsylvania’s dog owners who have taken the important 
step to license their dogs.”    
 

The cost of training and placing one service dog is approximately $20,000, with 
much of the funds coming from donations by individuals, groups and corporations. 

 
“On behalf of Susquehanna Service Dogs and the people we help lead more 
independent lives, thank you,” said Amanda Nicholson, Susquehanna Service Dogs 

training coordinator. “It’s expensive to train and place one service dog, and our 
organization depends on the generous support of donors to carry out our mission.”  

 
Dog owners can purchase a license at their local county treasurer’s office, through 
agents and online. 

 
An annual dog license is $8.45, or $6.45 if the animal is spayed or neutered. 

Lifetime licenses are available for dogs that have permanent identification like a 

http://www.petsmart.com/
http://www.keystonehumanservices.org/susquehanna-service-dogs/default.php


microchip or tattoo. Older adults and people with disabilities may be eligible for 
discounts. 

 
The dog license application is simple and only requests owner contact information 

and details about the dog being licensed, like name, age, breed and color. 
 
“So far this year, dog owners have purchased nearly 1.1 million licenses,” said 

Greig. “We still have a long way to go, and dog wardens will continue to canvass 
neighborhoods across the state to remind dog owners of their responsibility.” 

 
Greig offered these reasons for dog licensing:  

 It’s the law. All dogs three months and older must have a current license. 

 If your dog gets lost, a license is the best way to get him back. A 
license helps animal control and shelters identify your dog and get him back 

home safely.  
 The cost of a license is less than the penalty for being caught without 

one. A license costs less than two cents a day, but owners who fail to license 

their dogs could face a fine of up to $300 for each unlicensed dog.  
 License fees support animal control. The annual fee you pay to license 

your dog helps keep shelters running and supports the work of the Dog Law 
Enforcement Office, which is responsible for ensuring the welfare of dogs, 

regulating dangerous dogs and overseeing annual licensing and rabies 
vaccinations. State dog wardens completed 4,711 kennel inspections last 
year and issued 3,113 summary citations and 56 misdemeanor charges 

related to violations of the Pennsylvania Dog Law.  
 

For more information, visit www.licenseyourdogPA.com or call the Dog Law 
Enforcement Office at 717-787-3062. 
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