
 
 

 Pennsylvania Dog Licensing Fact Sheet 

What are the laws? 

 All dogs, three months or older, must be licensed by January 1 of each year. 

 

 An annual license is $8.50 and a lifetime is $51.50. If the animal is spayed or neutered, 

the annual fee is $6.50 and lifetime is $31.50. Discounts are available to older adults and 

people with disabilities. 

 

 All dogs and non-feral cats, three months of age or older, must be vaccinated against 

rabies. Booster vaccinations must be administered periodically to maintain lifelong 

immunity. 

 

 Violators will be cited with a maximum fine of $300 per violation plus court costs. 

 

 Licenses may be purchased through your local county treasurer’s office. Find more 

information on www.licenseyourdogPA.com.  

 

Why get your dog licensed? 

 If your dog gets lost, a current license is the fastest way for it to be reunited with you. 

 

 A dog without a current license can be transported to shelters far from their homes, and 

eventually adopted out if no owner is identified. 

 

 A dog license helps to control the stray dog population. 

 

Where does the money from the purchased license go? 

 A dollar from each dog license sold stays within the county where purchased. 

 

 The remaining money helps fund the Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture’s Bureau 

of Dog Law Enforcement.  

 

General Dog Law Information 

 The Bureau of Dog Law Enforcement is responsible for ensuring the welfare of dogs and 

puppies in kennels, regulating activities pertaining to dogs that are classified as 

dangerous, and oversees annual licensure and rabies vaccinations for dogs. 

 

 Complaints or tips can be submitted to the Bureau of Dog Law Enforcement online at 

www.licenseyourdogPA.com or by contacting your local dog warden. 
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