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Introduction  

Bureau of Dog Law Enforcement 
 
The Bureau of Dog Law Enforcement is responsible for ensuring the welfare of breeding 
dogs and puppies in commercial breeding kennels. The office also regulates activities 
pertaining to dogs that are classified as dangerous, and oversees annual licensure and 
rabies vaccinations for dogs.  
 
Our state dog wardens: 

o Enforce licensing and rabies laws. 
o Seize and detain any dog viewed running at large without its owner. 
o Investigate dog bites and establish and enforce quarantine of dogs. 
o Enforce kennel licensing and regulations through at least two inspections 

each year of every licensed kennel. 
o Maintain a registry of dogs declared dangerous by a magisterial district 

judge and perform dangerous dog inspections. 
o Prosecute dog law violations in court. 
o Provide educational services about dog ownership. 

 
Pennsylvania’s Rabies Law: 
 

Ignoring Pennsylvania’s rabies vaccination law can be costly – in more ways than one.  
Dogs and cats are exposed to the rabies virus through wild and stray animals, posing a 
threat to their health and yours. 

o Dogs and cats, three months or older, must have a current rabies 
vaccination.  Owners of non-vaccinated pets may be fined up to $300 plus 
court costs.   
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o Licensed veterinarians can vaccinate dogs and provide a vaccination 
certificate. 

o Dog wardens perform random checks to ensure rabies vaccinations are 
current. 

 
License Your Dog.  It’s the Law: 

 All dogs, three months or older, must be licensed by January 1 of each year. 

 Owners of non-licensed dogs can be cited with a maximum fine of $300 per dog 
plus court costs. 

 Dog wardens randomly conduct compliance checks in neighborhoods to ensure 
all dogs are licensed.  Violators will be fined. 

 If your dog gets lost, a current license is the fastest way to get your dog back 
home. 

 Licensing fees help the millions of dogs in Pennsylvania by funding the Bureau of 
Dog Law Enforcement. 

 Purchase a license from your local county treasurer or issuing agent. 

 An annual license is $8.50 and a lifetime license is $51.50. If your dog is spayed 
or neutered, the annual fee is $6.50 and lifetime is $31.50. Discounts are 
available to older adults and people with disabilities. 

 
Pennsylvania’s Dog Laws: 

 If your dog is not licensed, you may be fined up to $300 per dog. Get a license at 
your county treasurer’s office. 

 Your dog must be under control and supervised at all times. You are responsible 
for any damages caused by your dog on someone else’s property. 

 It is illegal to mistreat or abuse animals. Report suspected abuse to your local 
humane organization or police. 

 Purposely poisoning a dog, whether it is yours or someone else’s, is illegal. 

 You may not abandon or attempt to abandon any dog. You could be fined $1,000 
plus court costs.   

 Puppies under eight weeks old cannot be bartered, traded, sold or transferred. 

 You must have a kennel license if you keep, sell, transfer, adopt or foster at least 
26 dogs in a calendar year. 

 If your dog attacks or kills a human or domestic animal without provocation, it 
may be considered dangerous. You may face extensive fines and restrictions. 

 
2015 Dog Licensing Campaign Theme:  
 
“Love your dog. License your dog.” 
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Social Media  

Posting tweets and status updates on Twitter and Facebook is a great opportunity to 

promote and raise awareness of the licensing your dog and the 2015 Dog Licensing 

Campaign. When tweeting or posting about 2015 dog licensing, use the hashtag 

#Licenseyourdog15.  

Follow us on Twitter @PA_AgSecretary and “Like” us on Facebook at 

www.facebook.com/padeptofag.  

Suggested Tweets:  

 #March is Dog Law Awareness Month – Be sure to keep your dog safe, 

remember to #Licenseyourdog15.  

 Stop by your #countytreasurer office and purchase your 2015 dog license. Love 

your dog. #Licenseyourdog15.  

 All dogs, three months or older, must be licensed by January 1 of each year. 

Love your dog. #Licenseyourdog15  

 @PA_AgSecretary and #countytreasurers remind dog owners to 

#Licenseyourdog15. It’s not just a dog, it’s another member of the family.  

 #DYK If your dog gets lost, a current license is the fastest way to get your dog 

back home. #Licenseyourdog15 

 One small action with a huge impact - help keep your dog safe. Love your dog. 

#Licenseyourdog15.  

Suggested Facebook Posts: 

 March 2015 was designated as Dog Law Awareness Month. Be sure to keep 

your dog safe. Love your dog. #Licenseyourdog15. Visit 

www.licenseyourdogPA.com to find your local treasurer’s office or an issued 

agent near you.  

 Stop by your #countytreasurer office and purchase your 2015 dog license. Love 

your dog. #Licenseyourdog15. Find your local treasurer on 

www.licenseyourdogPA.com.  

 Do your part to keep your dog safe. All dogs, three months or older, must be 

licensed by January 1 of each year. #Licenseyourdog15 Find a location near you 

by visiting www.licenseyourdogPA.com.  

 Want to learn more about #Licenseyourdog15? Visit 

www.licenseyourdogPA.com.  

 #DYK If your dog gets lost, a current license is the fastest way to get your dog 

back home. #Licenseyourdog15.  Visit your local #countytreasurers office on find 

an issued agent near you on www.licenseyourdogPA.com.  

http://www.licenseyourdogpa.com/
http://www.licenseyourdogpa.com/
http://www.licenseyourdogpa.com/
http://www.licenseyourdogpa.com/
http://www.licenseyourdogpa.com/
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Sample Content for Newsletters and Websites 

License Your Dog in PA 

All dogs, three months or older, must be licensed by January 1 of each year. Violators 

can be cited with a maximum fine of $300 per violation plus court costs. 

An annual license is $8.50 and a lifetime license is $51.50. If the animal is spayed or 

neutered, the annual fee is $6.50 and lifetime is $31.50. Discounts are available to older 

adults and people with disabilities.  

The small license fee helps the millions of dogs in the state by funding the Pennsylvania 

Department of Agriculture Bureau of Dog Law Enforcement. 

Dog licenses are available from your local county treasurer and other licensing agents. 

Reasons for dog licensing:  

 It’s the law. All dogs, three months and older, must have a current license. 

 If your dog gets lost, a license is the best way to get him back. A license 

helps animal control and shelters identify your dog and get him back home 

safely.  

 The cost of a license is less than the penalty for being caught without one. 

Owners who fail to license their dogs could face a fine of up to $300 for each 

unlicensed dog.  

 License fees support animal control. The annual fee you pay to license your 

dog helps keep shelters running and supports the work of the Bureau of Dog Law 

Enforcement, which is responsible for ensuring the welfare of dogs, regulating 

dangerous dogs and overseeing annual licensing and rabies vaccinations.  
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Sample Press Release  

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
March 18, 2015 
 

Dog Licenses for 2015 Now Available at County Treasurers’ Offices; 
All Dogs Must be Licensed by January 1  

 
Harrisburg – Pennsylvanians can now purchase 2015 dog licenses from their county 
treasurers. State law requires all dogs, three months and older, to be licensed by January 1 of 
each year.  
 
“Include a quote from the county treasurer.” 
 
An annual dog license is $8.50, or $6.50 if the animal is spayed or neutered. Lifetime licenses 
are available for dogs that have permanent identification like a microchip or tattoo. Older adults 
and people with disabilities may be eligible for discounts. 
 
The dog license application is simple and only requests owner contact information and details 
about the dog being licensed, like name, age, breed and color. 
 
[Insert name of county treasurer] offered these reasons for dog licensing:  

 It’s the law. All dogs, three months and older, must have a current license. 

 If your dog gets lost, a license is the best way to get him back. A license helps 
animal control and shelters identify your dog and get him back home safely.  

 The cost of a license is less than the penalty for being caught without one. Owners 
who fail to license their dogs could face a fine of up to $300 for each unlicensed dog.  

 License fees support animal control. The annual fee you pay to license your dog 
helps keep shelters running and supports the work of the Bureau of Dog Law 
Enforcement, which is responsible for ensuring the welfare of dogs, regulating 
dangerous dogs and overseeing annual licensing and rabies vaccinations.  

 
For more information, including a list of county treasurers, visit www.licenseyourdogPA.com or 
call the Bureau of Dog Law Enforcement Office at 717-787-3062. 
 
MEDIA CONTACT: [Contact person for the county treasurer’s office] 
  

# # # 
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Advertising  

Includes but is not limited to: renewal mailers, newspaper advertisements, radio 

advertisements, PSA’s, and billboards. 

The approval process is as follows: 

1. Please submit a sample of what you would like to do and the cost to Stacy Ebling 

at sebling@pa.gov. 

2. The bureau will work through all internal channels of communication and either 

approve or deny the request. Once the advertising is approved, you may proceed 

with your intended advertising plans. 

3. The invoice, copy of payment, and a letter requesting reimbursement must be 

submitted to Stacy Ebling via email, fax to 717-772-4352, or mail to The Bureau 

of Dog Law Enforcement, Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture, 2301 N. 

Cameron Street, Harrisburg, PA 17110. 

Sample PSA 
 
Buy a Dog License  
PSA: 30 seconds  
 
Dog licenses for 2015 are now available at your local county treasurer’s office and 
online. Remember to renew your dog license every year to protect you and your dog. If 
your dog gets lost, a license is one of the quickest ways to get them back home. 
Contact County Treasurer, ________________ to purchase a license, or visit 
licenseyourdogpa.com. Love your dog. License your dog.  
 

Dog Law Compliance Checks  
PSA: 30 seconds   
 
Throughout the state, dog wardens will be knocking on dogs to make sure your dog has 
a valid license. Be sure your dog is licensed and has a current rabies vaccination – 
avoid fines up to $300. Don’t wait for the knock at the door. Love your dog. License your 
dog. For more information, visit licenseyourdogpa.com.  Contact County Treasurer, 
________________ or find an issuing agent near you to purchase a license. 
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Sample Advertisement  

 

 

 

 

 

 


